Posted by: Pepe de Murcia | November 14, 2007

Tres meses en Texas/Three months in Texas


(English version below)

Hoy en día (69)

Glass Building 209, En algún lugar de las Américas

Tres meses en el profundo Sur del Imperio. El tiempo pasa rápido y se deja sentir lentamente, una parte de mí se ha adaptado a la perfección a la rutina del college, con su lentitud sureña para algunas cosas, sus alumnos, sus profesores mal pagados, y otras cosas que me callo, que diría Lázaro. Pero hay otra parte de mí que sigue sintiéndose muy extraño en esta tierra. Digamos que me gusta América, pero que no me voy a quedar aquí a vivir.

Esta semana la gran noticia es la oferta de la UMU (Universidad de Murcia) de organizar algún tipo de intercambio con este college, favoreciendo que los estudiantes vayan en ambas direcciones, pero como siempre, aquí hay que contar primero con la parte económica, así que ya veremos. El martes me voy de viaje, qué ganas tengo.

Nowadays (69)

Glass Building 209, Somewhere in the Americas

Three months in the deep South of the Empire. Time goes fast and feels slowly, one part of me got adapted perfectly to the routine of the college, with its Southern slow-moving for some things, its students, its badly paid teachers, and other things I omit, as Lázaro would say. But there’s another part of me who still feels stranger in this land. Let’s say I like America, but I won’t stay here for living.

This week the great news are we have an offer from UMU (Universidad de Murcia) to organize some kind of exchange with this college, allowing the students to go both ways, but as always, here we have to count first on the economic part, so we’ll see. On Tuesday I go travelling, how I need it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

